Do Remifa Solla: a poem

Projects using Solresol. Issues in translation may be discussed, but issues inherent to the language should be taken to one of the Linguistic Discussion forums.

Do Remifa Solla: a poem

Postby Siremisol » August 7th, 2012, 8:07 pm

A poem I wrote in Solresol. It's my first try at this sort of poetry: Each line uses each syllable in Solresol exactly once, the first syllable of each line progresses from first to last, the first line has each syllable in ascending order, and the last line has each syllable in descending order. So it's phrasing is somewhat tortured. It also has a pretty nasty message.

Do remifa solla, si?
No benevolence ever, okay?

Relasi famisol do
Regret has no

Misila solre dofa.
Pleasure in it.

Fasol? Remi sidola
Why? Your progress

Solla midofasi re
Always suffers and

Larefado solmi, si?
Impoverishes badly, right?

Si, lasol famire do.
Yes, never harm not.
                        
Siremisol

Re: Do Remifa Solla: a poem

Postby Garrison » August 17th, 2012, 12:56 am

Dosolfasi, Siremisol!
I'm really sorry that no one has given you any feedback - because you did this really well! I wanted to wait until I really had time to look at it closely, because it looked good. I really like your idea; I think Solresol lends itself well to this kind of thing. I love that you managed to make poetry under such a rigid structure :)

If you don't mind, I'd like to make a couple corrective comments:

There are two rather large problems - fasol means 'Why' under Gajewski's definitions, but not under Sudre's. Sudre defined fasol to mean 'here is, there is' (I think mostly as an introductory word). If this was a normal poem, I'd suggest changing it to solfa - 'because'. But... That would maintain meaning, but not structure (and structure seems more important).