A compilation of information about Solresol, the universal musical language

Journalist interested in Solresol

Introduce yourself to the Sidosi community
Hi all,

My name is Jacquelyn and I'm a freelance journalist who's currently writing a piece about Solresol -- both in terms of its history and the interest in it today! -- for the website Atlas Obscura. Sidosi's been a great resource so far and I'd also love to learn more from Solresol enthusiasts about how their interest developed, thoughts on the language's ongoing development (in terms of word creation and recognition), etc.

Solsi!
Simi and welcome to Sidosi! I'm glad you've found Sidosi useful for your research, and I wish I had more of the pretty much complete website revamp ready to aid you more.

If you're taking any more pointers for the history of Solresol, you can't beat David Whitwell's La Téléphonie and the Universal Musical Language. It's the expanded "second edition" book form of Whitwell's collection of essays I have listed on the Resources page. It has countless translated excerpts from original French sources, including many scans and photos, along with Whitwell's commentary. It covers from 1817, around when Sudre became a music professor, to 1866, when Sudre's wife posthumously published his book, at least the one we have a copy of. All the time since then, with the exception of the 1902 publishing of Gajewski's book, hasn't been documented very well, and is assumed to be mostly dead time for the language, though we have some evidence that there was a dedicated group that existed.